PDA

View Full Version : Safe lye to use?

gulfy
07-23-2008, 01:08 AM
I am about to make my first test batch of biodiesel. I plan to take tilly's advice and use the Dr. Pepper method as it seems to be the best I've found. I've read as much on the forums as I can about processing and the things to look out for. My question is that I purchased a can of lye/NaOh and it says on the label 100%, but when I opened the container I notice a lot of small dark blue specks that do not appear to be lye crystals. I have read that the 100% lye should appear as all white crystals. Have I missed something or is this lye safe to use?

Also I really want to thank Saint Tilly for all of the helpful info about the Dr. Pepper method. As a beginner, I have read many methods on the web about making your first test batched and for what its worth, Tilly's really makes it simple to understand and complete successfully. thanks again to all..

gulfy
07-23-2008, 01:08 AM
I am about to make my first test batch of biodiesel. I plan to take tilly's advice and use the Dr. Pepper method as it seems to be the best I've found. I've read as much on the forums as I can about processing and the things to look out for. My question is that I purchased a can of lye/NaOh and it says on the label 100%, but when I opened the container I notice a lot of small dark blue specks that do not appear to be lye crystals. I have read that the 100% lye should appear as all white crystals. Have I missed something or is this lye safe to use?

Also I really want to thank Saint Tilly for all of the helpful info about the Dr. Pepper method. As a beginner, I have read many methods on the web about making your first test batched and for what its worth, Tilly's really makes it simple to understand and complete successfully. thanks again to all..

Tilly
07-23-2008, 01:16 AM
Hello gulfy, thank you for the kind remarks.

What brand of NaOH did you buy?

gulfy
07-23-2008, 02:08 AM